Automap?

Discuss anything about the beta here that does not fit into the other subforums.

Moderator: SolC Development Leads

Shaleblade
Beta Tester

Automap?

Post by Shaleblade » 06 Nov 2015, 00:03

It'd be really handy to have a quick wireframe map at the press of a button to help new players.

Remember: being able to quickly switch into & out of it is WAY more important than it looking pretty. Ideally you can do both, but being stuck in a loading screen - even if for a few moments - during a match is excruciating.

Yoshimitsu
Beta Tester

Re: Automap?

Post by Yoshimitsu » 07 Nov 2015, 03:38

I second this. Even as an experienced 6Dof pilot I would love an automap as a tool for helping me to quickly visualize the layout of an entire level. I've always found it to be a huge help.

1/2Hawk
SolC Development Lead

Post by 1/2Hawk » 07 Nov 2015, 03:54

It completely boggles my mind how parallax accomplished this 20 years ago and I cant seem to get it to work in 2015... DERP BTW - there is a map on Neptune - has anybody spotted it yet? It shows where the good pickups are.
UDK & UE4 - Visual FX (Particle Systems, Custom Materials, Lighting), Modeling, Animation/Rigging, Mapping, Coding

Yoshimitsu
Beta Tester

Post by Yoshimitsu » 07 Nov 2015, 04:07

I'll have to go in search...

1/2Hawk
SolC Development Lead

Post by 1/2Hawk » 07 Nov 2015, 04:53

They keep tabs on what walls you spotted in game... Of course the community version of DM_Neptune for D2 only has 256 polygons the entire map! Sublevel Zero seems to have solved it for their game at least.
UDK & UE4 - Visual FX (Particle Systems, Custom Materials, Lighting), Modeling, Animation/Rigging, Mapping, Coding

Shaleblade
Beta Tester

Post by Shaleblade » 07 Nov 2015, 06:04

Well, even Sublevel Zero's level geometry isn't THAT complex - at least, not as far as I remember. Either way, I don't think having level maps restricted to what's been seen is important. When single-player comes along, then yes.

InVader