Page 1 of 2

MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 05 Nov 2015, 20:14
by Do_Checkor
I got a 3D Pro hooked up to a USB Converter.

Works fine in D1, D2, D3 on XP, W7, W8, W8.1, W10

I am on W10 on the best game rig I got. Works fine with D3 and the joystick.

I can't assign the X/Y axis to gear / nick - there is no reaction...

Any ideas?

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 05 Nov 2015, 20:30
by MadMax1998
Yes, you should look for an XInput wrapper as described in the manual. That will get you going. Our engine does not support DirectInput.

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 05 Nov 2015, 20:58
by Do_Checkor
I was looking at page 5/6 and did not see anything related. Searching for "XInput" got me to the step you described. If you want to remove / move this topic, I'd have no complaints.

On the other hand this might be a handy "Standard newbie questions thing" :)

I'll look at it again tomorrow.

So far I am really HAPPY the game appears to run WAY better on my rig compared to "some other recent alpha 6DOF game" I tried :)

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 05 Nov 2015, 21:13
by Dusty267
So will the XInput wrapper fix one-way controllers? I am more curious about getting a list of what does work right now for joysticks. If that issue is going to be fixed relatively soon, forget this post then :)

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 05 Nov 2015, 21:47
by MadMax1998
Checkor, this is quoted from our manual:
You can play the game using keyboard, mouse, an XBox 360/One controller (or compatible), or a joystick with XInput
support. DirectInput is unfortunately not supported by the engine. If you want to set up a more complex multi-device
scheme and/or use DirectInput devices, you can use an XInput wrapper such as the one from http://www.x360ce.com
which we have used in testing.
Yoshimitsu who is also a tester has had good success with it.

Dusty, no, it will not fix the one-way axis issue but my new build that I'm compiling right now WILL!

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 05 Nov 2015, 22:07
by Dusty267
Sounds good! Thanks Max!

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 06 Nov 2015, 00:24
by Yoshimitsu
Yes, I used that exact wrapper to make my joysticks work. I'm actually using 2 sticks and that wrapper allowed me to combine them into a single Xbox360 controller so that SolC recognizes them both as one gamepad. Of course that means that I cant use all of my hat directions and I don't actually get all 5 of my axis (a gamepad only has 4) but I bound my twist axis to Start and Back so that I can use it for banking. If I eventually need the rest of my controls I will look for a joystick to keyboard emulator so that I can bind my hat directions to use as keys (say 1-8).

Of course I'm hoping that all of this is temporary and that we'll have directinput support when Proving Grounds is publicly released.

My joysticks are:
Microsoft Sidewinder 3D Pro using a homemade USB converter.
Saitek Cyborg Graphite

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 06 Nov 2015, 01:43
by SgtThorne
Damnit Jim, I'm a Material Defender not an input driver geek! :P

Me and my MS 3D Pro are working on it...

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 06 Nov 2015, 01:43
by VigilSerus
Real quick, I'm trying to get my Logitech X3D working. I downloaded and set up a config for my joystick via x360ce, but apparently you need to replace some Xinput file for it to work? :|
What's the process for the x360ce wrapper to get it working for SolC? And do I need 64 bit or 32 bit?

Re: MS Sidewinder 3D Pro - no success setting up axis

Posted: 06 Nov 2015, 04:02
by Urungus
Thanks for the controller advice. Microsoft Force Feedback 2 here. The wrapper works swimmingly.